Maine Teacher of the Year nominations due today

Nominations are due by 5 p.m. today for the 2016 Maine Teacher of the Year.

Mainers who have been positively impacted by one of the state’s many outstanding public school educators are encouraged to extend their thanks by taking a few minutes today to submit their nomination. All nominees will be notified, so even those who do not advance further will receive recognition.

Nominate a great Maine teacher now.

From the hundreds of nominees expected to be entered by today’s deadline, a 2015 County Teacher of the Year from each of Maine’s 16 counties will be chosen. From those honorees, three state finalists and the 2016 Maine Teacher of the Year will be selected and announced by the state’s Education Commissioner at a surprise all-school assembly this fall.

To be considered, an educator must demonstrate a commitment to excellence and to nurturing the achievement of all students. They must also hold at least a four-year degree and be employed by a Maine public school – including a public charter school or publicly supported secondary school.

Maine’s Teacher of the Year serves as an advocate for teachers, students and the efforts underway in Maine’s public schools to prepare students for success in college, career and civic life.The current Maine Teacher of the Year is Jennifer Dorman, a special educator at Skowhegan Area Middle School.

Maine Teacher of the Year is a program of the Maine Department of Education administered by Educate Maine. Funding is provided by Bangor Savings Bank, Geiger, Hannaford and Unum with support from the State Board of Education and the Maine State Teacher of the Year Association. Bangor Savings Bank reimburses the winning educator’s school district for the cost of substitutes while the Teacher of the Year is out of the classroom on their official duties, which include travel throughout the state, a week at NASA Space Camp and a visit to the White House.

To nominate a teacher to be considered for the 2016 Maine Teacher of the Year award, please click here. To learn more about the Maine Teacher of the Year program, visit

Leave a Reply