Commission on Educational Opportunity for Military Children Meeting

The next meeting of the Commission on Educational Opportunity for Military Children will be held virtually on Wednesday October 27th at 9:00am. Interested parties may email Tyler Backus at to receive the agenda, meeting materials, and instructions on how to attend the meeting.

All 50 states, plus the District of Columbia, belong to the Military Interstate Children’s Compact Commission (MIC3). Each state appoints a council to oversee the implementation of the Compact at the state level.

States that sign on to the Compact commit to doing what it takes to:

  • Enroll children of military families at their new schools as quickly and seamlessly as possible, even in the absence of normally required official records and immunizations; and
  • Ensure that students with parents in the Armed Forces stay on track to graduate on time, even when such students’ academic records don’t comply perfectly with local graduation requirements.

More information about MIC3 is available at or

Virtual Training Session on Submitting English Learner Data on Oct. 5

The Maine Department of Education (DOE) Data team will be holding a training session on October 5th at 1pm to discuss how School Administrative Units (SAUs) and private schools should be submitting English Learner data to the state.

The target audience for this training includes both data coordinators and English Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) educators. We will have April Perkins, Maine DOE’s World Languages & ESOL/Bilingual Programs Specialist on hand to answer any specific questions about students who are learning English. We will also be joined by Jodi Bossio-Smith, the Maine DOE’s Alternate & WIDA Assessment Coordinator and Dan Weeks, the ESEA Title III & Title V Coordinator.

Register Here

Concussion Resources and Reporting

As directed by Title 20-A §254, sub-§17, the Maine Department of Education (DOE) has been working in collaboration with the Maine Principals’ Association (MPA), Maine Association of School Nurses (MASN), and the Maine Concussion Management Initiative (MCMI) to create a process for concussion incidence reporting. During the first year of implementation, the concussion workgroup is providing support to schools that are currently utilizing the Head Injury Tracker (HIT). HIT was developed by MCMI 2013 with the goal of providing schools with an ability to identify high-risk activities for brain injuries by tracking patterns of concussions within their school systems. The HIT platform is available at no cost and provides schools with an easy, confidential, and secure method of collecting concussion data for their students.

This resource is available to all Maine schools to aid in the early recognition and management of concussion.  Since the creation of the model concussion policy in 2012, schools across Maine have been instrumental in increasing concussion awareness among students, parents, and staff. Implementation of the concussion policy should improve the management and care a student receives following an injury. Injuries can happen during any activity throughout the school day or outside of school. The location of the injury should not affect the attention and accommodation a student receives. The model policy reflects current best practices in concussion management in schools. Over the years there has been a shift in the focus of how a concussion affects a student, specifically with the recognition that children are students first. Therefore, the model policy outlines a graduated school re-entry plan that is individualized and flexible, with input from medical providers, parents, and the school multidisciplinary team.

For more information on concussion management in Maine schools please visit:

If you have questions about these efforts, please email For questions related to the HIT platform, contact MCMI  at


Celebrating National Farm to School Month in October

October is National Farm to School Month! Celebrate in Maine by filling your school kitchens and lunch trays with local food. Now is the perfect time of year to connect with a local farmer or grower and support their work. Celebrate food and nutrition education, school gardens and orchards, and the bounty that fall in Maine provides us!


[Download a PDF of the calendar here (includes links!)]

For more information and resources visit our Local Foods in Local Schools Webpage or contact Robin Kerber, Maine Department of Education Farm and Sea to School Coordinator at

Free Statewide Meet & Greet for New School Library Staff

New to a school library and/or changed libraries? Join the Maine Association of School Libraries (MASL) and its members members in small groups to chat about your questions and ideas.

This is a free, virtual event that will take place on Thursday, September 30th from 4pm to 5pm. 

During the event you will have the opportunity to connect with other new library staff new to a school or the profession while also gaining perspective from MASL members. The session will cover the benefits of MASL membership including professional development, networking, and scholarship opportunities. 

For more information or to register, please visit the event page on the MASL website.