Teachers Honored in State House Ceremony

Governor praises Teacher of the Year Nominees

AUGUSTA – Governor John Baldacci and First Lady Karen Baldacci joined state education officials in honoring the 13 teachers nominated for the 2011 Maine Teacher of the Year program at a State House ceremony Friday. The teachers were nominated by parents, colleagues and administrators at their local schools.

2011 Maine Teacher of the Year nominees“Our teachers are among our most treasured resources in Maine,” said Governor Baldacci. “You have an awesome responsibility. You work hard all year-round, fulfilling the important role of preparing our youngsters to be good citizens and workers.”

The 2011 Maine Teacher of the Year will be the 45th educator to receive the honor. Madeline Linscott of Winthrop, a retired elementary school teacher and principal, was the first to be named Maine Teacher of the Year in 1966. Kevin Grover, a second-grade teacher at D.W. Lunt School in Falmouth, is the 2010 Maine Teacher of the Year.

The nominees will undergo an intensive selection process consisting of a school visit, a professional portfolio review, an oral presentation, and a final interview before the 2011 Maine Teacher of the Year is selected. The selection committee includes past Teachers of the Year, principals, teachers, Department of Education staff, and members of the state’s professional educator associations and of the business community. The 2011 Maine Teacher of the Year will be announced at a surprise all-school assembly in September.

Hannaford Supermarkets generously underwrites the cost of the Maine Teacher of the Year program.

The 2011 nominees are:

  • Alice Barr, Yarmouth High School
  • William Buzza, Leavitt Area High School, Turner
  • Jim Fratini, Hermon Middle School
  • Kate Gardoqui, Noble High School, North Berwick
  • Tracy Gendron-Turner, Montello Elementary School, Lewiston
  • Amy Hediger, Poland Community School
  • Nancy Kane, Sanford High School
  • Walter LeBlanc, Westbrook High School
  • Shelly Moody, Williams Elementary School, Oakland
  • Eddy Naples, Region 9 School of Applied Technology, Mexico
  • Cynthia Shepley, Abraham Lincoln School, Bangor

Sandra Swan, Woodland Consolidated School
Jason Tremblay, Massabesic High School, Waterboro

For more information: Jennifer Pooler, 207-624-6638 | David Connerty-Marin, 207-624-6880

Leave a Reply