Madison Memorial High School STEM Geometry, STEM Lab & Sustainable Agriculture Project Recognized by Samsung

Madison Memorial High School (MSAD/RSU 59) STEM Geometry, STEM Lab & Sustainable Agriculture project has been named Samsung’s Solve For Tomorrow 2021-22 Maine State Winner.

As part of Maine’s state-wide career exploration program, Madison High School’s project helped kick off the Franklin and Somerset Counties’ STEM Pilot Project which aims to fund vocational and innovative programs in science, technology, engineering, and math. The project also helps connect students in Franklin and Somerset Counties with career exploration programming, paid internships and scholarships for Maine Community Colleges serving students from these counties.

The Madison Memorial High School STEM Geometry, STEM Lab & Sustainable Agriculture Project was highlighted by Samsung for their hard work to develop a STEM solution to an issue that impacts their local community.

“The innovative practices of fostering the Engineering Design mindset, using 3D technology as well as sustaining and regenerating natural systems will help address local food insecurity and contribute to the overall reduction of Madison’s global footprint,” said Kathy Bertini, MASD/RSU 59 Curriculum Coordinator, STEAM Person, and 2019 Somerset County Teacher of the Year.

“In order to give MSAD 59 students the best opportunities moving forward, it is critical that we connect innovation with technology,” said Madison High School Principal Chris LeBlanc. “Our students will have a skillset that allows them to use the area’s natural resources in a way that ensures sustainability while enhancing the local community.”

Yarmouth High School Black Student Union Club Takes Experiential Learning Trip to Boston

The Black Student Union (BSU) is a club at Yarmouth High School composed of Black, Indigenous, People of Color (BIPOC) students and their allies.  The mission of BSU is to bring awareness to topics that African Americans and Black People face by having safe discussions on ways to eliminate racism, prejudice, inequality, discrimination and more.

One of BSU’s goals is to help students and staff reexamine our community’s history to better understand racism and its origins.  As a first step, the BSU applied for a grant from the Yarmouth Educational Foundation to take a trip to Boston and spend the day specifically dedicated to exploring African American and Black history and culture.  The day was an opportunity to celebrate the many contributions of the Black community as well as look back at history in New England from the perspective of a person of color.  The students participated in a walking tour of the Black Heritage Trail (Beacon Hill), attended a guided visit to the Museum of African American History and enjoyed Ethiopian food at a local restaurant.

“I learned so many things that I didn’t know before. I learned about important African-American people who helped others and shaped this country. This field trip made me realize how much this information and knowledge needs to be taught in school. This benefited me a lot and helped me better understand our history. I think that this information is too valuable to be just shared with BSU. It should be shared with everyone,” said sophomore Neena Panozzo.

After the field trip, the BSU created a short video presentation for faculty about their experience.  The students are currently working to help provide recommendations to faculty and administration about how our curricula, particularly those focused on history and culture, can be more inclusive.  This field trip helped students in their objective to better educate others in the community about possible discrepancies and gaps in our retelling of history.

“Field trips and experiences like this make such a positive impact on learning for students and you are able to learn so much in only a day,” said ninth grader Madison Beaudoin.

For more information about this initiative, contact Justine Carlisle, BSU Club Advisor at

Greater Sebago Education Alliance Features New Video to Promote Jobs in School Nutrition

To showcase the benefits and joys of working on their school nutrition team, the Greater Sebago Education Alliance has created a video that features staff on the job, talking about why they enjoy working in school nutrition and why it’s a job that works for them.

Check out the video below, and if you or someone you know is looking for a change of pace in employment, try contacting your local school nutrition program to find out more information!

Jobs in the School Nutrition Program from Gorham Community Access Media on Vimeo.

Lewiston Culinary Class Set to Sharpen Workforce Skills

Photo caption: Pastry Instructor Rebecca Levesque shows off dinner rolls before getting them ready for a meal at Lewiston Regional Technical Center’s Restaurant, The Green Ladle.

A hands-on culinary training program can provide the recipe for adults looking for a successful transition to restaurant careers.

The Culinary Training with Kitchen Manager ServSafe Training is scheduled to begin on Jan. 17 at the Green Ladle in Lewiston. Chef Dan Caron of the Green Ladle said it is the second one offered to help restaurants and food service establishments in need of skilled workers. It will be free for eligible participants.

The program is being funded through federal job training funds as well as the Green Ladle’s “Community Serving Community” food truck. The Green Ladle is the culinary arts program for Lewiston Regional Technical Center.

During the previous training that ended on Nov. 17, representatives of seven local restaurants met with students to recruit them.

“It was really quite amazing,” Caron said.

He said of the 11 students in that session, seven had already been hired for jobs before the end of the training.

Students in the new session will learn about basic kitchen safety, knife skills and baking in the five-week class. The class will run Monday and Wednesday afternoons.

“It’s a win-win situation for the student,” Caron said. “This is a good way to get into the culinary field and to support our local restaurants and other food service establishments.”

In order to enroll, interested students must sign up to attend an informational session that is scheduled for December 16th. CASAS testing is also required. At the end of the training, students will receive a certificate of completion, will take the ServSafe manager exam, and will have the opportunity to meet with local employers.

The class is a partnership between the Green Ladle, Lewiston Adult Education, Eastern Maine Development Corporation/Community Concepts, Inc. with the support of the Lewiston-Auburn culinary community, including Bates College, DaVinci’s Italian Eatery, Fish Bones Grill, Gippers Sports Grill, and Campus Cuisine. Additional partners may join the program before the January start, Caron said.

To register for the informational session and to schedule testing, contact Lewiston Adult Education at 207-795-4141.

Celebrating the Voices of Computer Science Education in Maine 

In celebration of CSEd week and another successful year championing computer science education in Maine, we asked teachers and students to share their experiences with us. Click on the video to hear what they had to say! #MaineTeachesCS 

Interested in learning more about computer science education in Maine? Want to get involved? Check out our website to explore ways that Maine is expanding access to and participation in computer science education. For more information, contact Emma-Marie Banks, Computer Science Specialist at