2011 Teacher of the Year Semi-finalists Announced

Five teachers move on in selection process

AUGUSTA – The Maine Department of Education named five semi-finalists Monday for the title of 2011 Maine Teacher of the Year. They were chosen from the 13 nominees who were honored earlier this month in a State House ceremony with Gov. John Baldacci and First Lady Karen Baldacci. The five teachers were selected by a distinguished review panel consisting of teachers, principals, and members of professional organizations and the business community.

The five are: Alice Barr, Yarmouth High School; William (Bill) Buzza, Leavitt Area High School, Turner; Kate Gardoqui, Noble High School, North Berwick; Amy Hediger, Poland Community School; and Shelly Moody, Williams Elementary School, Oakland.

The semi-finalists will undergo an intensive selection process consisting of a school visit, a professional portfolio review, and an oral presentation before the pool is narrowed to three state finalists who will then sit for a final interview before the 2011 Maine Teacher of the Year is selected. The review panels consist of past Teachers of the Year, principals, Department staff, and members of professional education organizations and the business community. The 2011 Maine Teacher of the Year will be announced at a surprise all-school assembly in September.

The 2011 Maine Teacher of the Year will be the 46th educator to receive the honor. Kevin Grover, a second-grade teacher at D.W. Lunt School in Falmouth, is the 2010 Maine Teacher of the Year.

Hannaford Supermarkets generously underwrites the cost of the Maine Teacher of the Year program. The program is coordinated by the Maine Department of Education and is supported by the Maine State Board of Education and the Maine State Teacher of the Year Association.

More information and photos of the semi-finalists can be found at: Teacher of the Year website.

Jennifer Pooler, 207-624-6638 | David Connerty-Marin, 207-624-6880

Leave a Reply