Maine Students Selected for U.S. Senate Youth Program

Students Headed to Washington, D. C., and to Receive $5000 Scholarship

AUGUSTA – Senators Olympia J. Snowe and Susan M. Collins have announced the names of the two students who have been selected as delegates to the 49th annual United States Senate Youth Program, which will be held March 5-12 in Washington, D.C. David Bibeau of Scarborough and Krysta Moulton of Athens were chosen from across the state to be part of the group of 104 student delegates who will attend the program.

The program was created by Senate Resolution 324 in 1962 and has been sponsored by the Senate and fully funded by The Hearst Foundations since inception. Originally proposed by Senators Kuchel, Mansfield, Dirksen and Humphrey, the impetus for the program as stated in Senate testimony was “to increase young Americans’ understanding of the interrelationships of the three branches of government, the caliber and responsibilities of federally elected and appointed officials, and the vital importance of democratic decision making not only for America but for people around the world.”

Each year this extremely competitive merit-based program brings 104 of the most outstanding high school students — two from each state, the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense Education Activity — to Washington, D.C. for an intensive week-long study of the federal government and the people who lead it. The overall mission of the program is to help instill within each class of USSYP student delegates more profound knowledge of the American political process and a lifelong commitment to public service. In addition to the program week, The Hearst Foundations provide each of the 104 student delegates with a $5,000 undergraduate college scholarship with encouragement to continue coursework in government, history and public affairs. Transportation and all expenses for Washington Week are also provided by The Hearst Foundations. No government funds are utilized for the program.

David Bibeau attends Scarborough High School where he serves as secretary of the Student Council. David also participates in Congressional Debate, Mock Trial, Model United Nations, Soccer, and Alpine Ski Racing. He has been the state champion in Congressional Debate for two years and hopes to study international relations.

Krysta Moulton attends Madison Area High School where she serves as class president. A senior mentor and president of the National Honor Society, Krysta also is a member of Business League, track and field, and 4-H. Her hobbies include exercising, target shooting, reading, and watching the Boston Red Sox and Bruins. Krysta hopes to attend law school and eventually become an FBI agent.

Chosen as alternates to the 2011 program were Tyler Washburn, a resident of Bowdoin, who attends Mt. Ararat High School and William Cadigan, a resident of Kennebunkport, who attends Kennebunk High School.

The chief educational officer in each state selects the delegates after nomination by teachers and principals. This year’s delegates were designated by Maine Education Commissioner Angela Faherty.

While in Washington the student delegates will attend meetings and briefings with Senators and Congressional staff, the President, a justice of the Supreme Court, leaders of cabinet agencies, an ambassador to the United States and top members of the national media. The students will also tour many of the national monuments and several museums and they will stay at the historic Mayflower hotel in downtown Washington, D.C.

In addition to remarkable leadership abilities and a strong commitment to public service, this year’s students rank academically in the top one percent of their states. They continue to excel and develop impressive qualities that are often directed toward public service. Among the many distinguished former program delegates are Senator Susan Collins of Maine, the first program delegate elected to the Senate; Congressman-elect Cory Gardner of Colorado, the first alumnus to be elected to the House; New Jersey Governor Christopher Christie; former Chief Judge Robert Henry, U.S. Court of Appeals; former Ambassador to West Germany Richard Burt; and former presidential advisors Thomas “Mack” McLarty and Karl Rove. Additional distinguished alumni are, former Lt. Governor of Idaho David LeRoy, Foreign Service Officers, members of state legislatures, military officers, top Congressional staff, healthcare providers and university educators.

Members of the Youth Program 2011 49th Annual Senate Advisory Committee are: co-chairs Senator Ben Nelson of Nebraska and Senator John Cornyn of Texas; advisory committee members Senator Dianne Feinstein of California, Senator Kay R. Hagan of North Carolina, Senator Bernard Sanders of Vermont, Senator Debbie Stabenow of Michigan, Senator John Barrasso of Wyoming , Senator Scott P. Brown of Massachusetts, Senator James E. Risch of Idaho and Senator Roger F. Wicker of Mississippi. Each year, the honorary co-chairs of the program are the Senate majority and minority leaders and the Vice President of the United States.

Leave a Reply