Maine Department of Education announces the 2016 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching State Finalists

Maine DOE is honored to announce the four state finalists for the 2016 Presidential Award for Excellence in Teaching Mathematics and Science (PAEMST). The 2016 cycle recognizes elementary teachers.

The state finalist in mathematics is Barbara Ellis who teaches sixth grade at Frank H. Harrison Middle School in Yarmouth. The three state finalists for science are Kirsten Gould who teaches first grade at Buxton Elementary School, Susan O’Brien who teaches fifth grade at George B. Weatherbee School in Hampden and Tonya Prentice who teaches fifth grade at Woodstock Elementary School in Bryant Pond.

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching is the nation’s highest honor for teachers of mathematics and science. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, an inspiration to their communities and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.

The four state finalists have been forwarded to the national level for review by the national selection committee. The White House will announce which of the state finalists will become Maine’s next PAEMST Awardees.

The 2017 award cycle will begin this fall when nominations open for 7-12 educators on Oct. 1. Please visit the PAEMST website to nominate a teacher you know that demonstrates excellence in teaching mathematics and/or science this year!

For further information regarding the PAEMST program you may contact Shari Templeton, Maine DOE’s Science and Technology Specialist at 624-6880 or, or Michele Mailhot, Maine DOE’s Mathematics Specialist at 624-6829, or