3 named Teacher of the Year finalists

One elementary school teacher, one high school math teacher and one high school English teacher are the state finalists for the title of 2012 Maine Teacher of the Year.

Ingrid Stressenger head shot
Tim Eisenhart head shot
Alana Margeson head shot

The 2012 finalists are: Ingrid Stressenger, a fourth grade teacher at Pond Cove School in Cape Elizabeth; Tim Eisenhart, a ninth grade mathematics teacher at Westbrook High School; and, Alana Margeson, a grades 10-11 English teacher at Caribou High School.

Six semi-finalists underwent an intensive selection process consisting of a school visit, professional portfolio review, and oral presentation. The three state finalists will complete a final interview before the 2012 Maine Teacher of the Year is selected.

Review panel members participating in this year’s selection process included past Teachers of the Year, principals, Department of Education staff, members of the State Board of Education and business community representatives. The 2012 Maine Teacher of the Year will be announced at a surprise all-school assembly in September.

Hannaford Supermarkets generously underwrites the operating costs of the Maine Teacher of the Year program, and Bangor Savings Bank will reimburse the winner’s school district for the cost of substitutes while the Teacher of the Year is out of the classroom on official duties.

Resources and more information

Leave a Reply