Teacher of the Year nominees represent Maine’s great teachers

Alana Margeson only officially became the 2012 Maine Teacher of the Year on January 1. But work is already underway to select the 2013 Teacher of the Year.

The Teacher of the Year nominees pose for a photo.
The nominees for 2013 Teacher of the Year pose with alumni of the Teacher of the Year program.

Eight nominees shared a bit of their classroom and their teaching philosophy with legislators and the public at the State House on Tuesday and were honored in a ceremony that included First Lady Ann LePage, Education Commissioner Stephen Bowen, State Board of Education Chair Jim Banks, Sen. Brian Langley, representatives of Hannaford (a major program sponsor), and many past Teachers of the Year.

The program’s intent is to highlight the teaching profession and, while one nominee will be named the Teacher of the Year in a surprise event in September, that person’s role is to represent all the great teachers in Maine.

A Teacher of the Year nominee poses with her display boards.
Beth Skotarczak of Oxford-Cumberland Canal School in Westbrook and her display in the State House Hall of Flags.

The program is also a significant professional development tool. Teachers who go through the process say the opportunity to reflect on their teaching provides an immeasurable professional boost.

Commissioner Bowen strongly encourages every school to participate in the Teacher of the Year process by nominating a teacher every year. The nomination process can be started by anyone – teachers, superintendents, parents, students, principals and others. The school submits a formal application when nomination forms become available.

More information can be found online at http://maine.gov/doe/toy.

Congratulations to the 2013 nominees!

Matthew Amoroso, Thornton Academy, Saco
Katherine Bousquet, Central School, South Berwick
Richard Lent, Leavitt Area High School, Turner
Elizabeth Marass; Sanford High School
Tracy Scully, Acton Elementary School
Shannon Shanning, Whittier Middle School, Poland
Beth Skotarczak, Oxford-Cumberland Canal School, Westbrook
Beth Switzer, Coastal Ridge Elementary School, York

David Connerty-Marin is the Director of Communications at the Maine Department of Education and the team leader for the Teacher of the Year program.

Leave a Reply