Teacher of the Year nominees announced

Commissioner Stephen Bowen congratulates 14 teachers from across the state who have been nominated to become Maine’s 2014 Teacher of the Year. The program highlights great teachers and teaching. One nominee will be named the Teacher of the Year during a surprise event in September.

The program is a significant professional development tool. Teachers who go through the process say the opportunity to reflect on their teaching provides an immeasurable professional boost.

Commissioner Bowen strongly encourages every school to participate in the Teacher of the Year process by nominating a teacher every year. The nomination process can be started by anyone – teachers, superintendents, parents, students, principals and others. The school submits a formal application when nomination forms become available.

More information can be found on the Teacher of the Year website.

Congratulations to the 2014 nominees:

  • Anne Carney, St. Albans Consolidated School
  • Susan Carpenter O’Brien, George B. Weatherbee School, Hampden
  • Christiane Cullens, Mount Desert Island High School
  • Mary Graziano, Hartland Consolidated School
  • Kerri LeSieur, Biddeford Primary School
  • Karen MacDonald, King Middle School, Portland
  • Joshua Pietras, Penquis Valley High School, Milo
  • Suzen Polk-Hoffses, Milbridge Elementary School
  • Susan Ray, Sacopee Valley Middle School, Hiram
  • Cynthia Raymond, Hall-Dale Middle School, Farmingdale
  • Laurie Rodrigue, Cony High School, Augusta
  • Nancy Sargent, Cumberland and Oxford Canal School, Westbrook
  • Marsha Snyder, Thornton Academy, Saco
  • Tracie Wagenfeld-Hallissey, Willard School, Sanford

Resources and more information

Leave a Reply