School librarian receives award

The Maine Department of Education along with the Maine Association of School Librarians presented an award to the Old Town Elementary School Librarian recently.

Incoming Maine Association of School Librarian President Tina Taggart (left) and Maine Department of Education’s Sherry Wyman (right) presenting the award to Lynn Mayer. Photo courtesy of Maine Association of School Librarians.

Lynn Mayer received the Walter J. Taranko School Librarian Award for making significant contributions to the school library profession on the local and/or state levels.  Mayer is noted for supporting both students and faculty in both technology and literacy. She is described by her principal as the ‘heart of the school’. Mayer served as a member of the technology committee and has contributed to the development of the district technology curriculum.

In addition, Mayer has written several early literacy grants that have benefitted children from birth to age eight. Her biggest accomplishment, however, is her work with the students at Old Town Elementary School. Lynn’s energy and dedication to the profession is admirable and inspiring.

To learn more about learning through technology, visit here.