State Recognizes Middle School Scholars and Leaders

Young scholars and leaders from across the State of Maine were recognized on May 9th at the Twentieth Annual Scholar Leader Awards Banquet in the Augusta Civic Center. This is currently the only Statewide recognition ceremony in Maine for middle-level students.

2The Maine Association of Middle Level Education (MAMLE) and the New England League of Middle Schools (NELMS) partnered to present awards to students who showed initiative both within and outside of the classroom, as young leaders, academics, and positive forward-thinkers. Both organizations strive to promote student success in education among young adolescents. Students were chosen to receive the award based on the following criteria, as detailed in a press release by MAMLE:

  • Demonstration of Academic Achievement
  • Services provided to classmates and school
  • Being a positive role model for peers
  • Demonstrating integrity, honesty, self-discipline, and courage

The following is a list the high-achieving awardees:

Veazie Community School, Veazie: Rebekah Jaska, Martin Skacel

Middle School of the Kennebunks, Kennebunk: Matilda Bordas, Maya Flores

Philip W. Sugg Middle School, Lisbon Falls: Maia Tebbets, Levi Tibbetts

SeDoMoCha Middle School, Dover-Foxcroft: Ayda Holyoke, Adam Taylor

Spruce Mountain Middle School, Jay: Chance Brooks, Nora Castonguay

Mount Blue Middle School, Farmington: Mckella Ford, Kamryn Joyce

Reeds Brook Middle School, Hampden: Elise DeRosby, Jack Johnson

Holbrook Middle School, Holden: Kyleigh McCafferty, Jonathon Pangburn

Bruce M. Whittier Middle School, Poland: LiSha Powell, Shane Yorkey

Medomak Middle School, Waldoboro: Michael Mank, Aleah Sebrey

Oceanside Middle School, Thomaston: Theodore Campbell, Cassidy Novicka

T.W. Kelly Dirigo Middle School, Dixfield: Zackary Putnam, Grace Robbins

Joseph A. Leonard Middle School, Old Town: Isabella Bouchard and Hunter Clukey

Valley Rivers Middle School, Fort Kent: Connor Pelletier, Tia Saucier

Orono Middle School, Orono: Abigail Deschaine, Collin Loranger

Telstar Regional Middle School, Bethel: David Goodwin, Cassandra Sylvester

Saco Middle School, Saco: Cole Cochrane, Thalia Tucker

Biddeford Middle School, Biddeford: Krystal Shumate, Richardson Victorino

Jefferson Village School, Jefferson: Aowyn Burbank, Abigail St. Cyr

Mount Jefferson Junior High School, Lee: Zachary Holt, Kaitlyn Watkins

Cony Middle and High School, Augusta: Jasmine Day, Derek Harding

Richmond Middle & High School, Richmond: Max Viselli, Sophia Wells

Medway Middle School, Medway: Randi Richards, Wyatt Stanley

Lewiston Middle School, Lewiston: Benjamin Cloutier, Farid Muhammed-Aceto

Auburn Middle School, Auburn: Landon Cougle, Sarah Morgan

Monmouth Middle School, Monmouth: Holly Hunt, Adam Knell


The event was opened by the Joseph A. Leonard Middle School Jazz Ensemble, at the direction of Shianne Priest, and included welcoming remarks from Erica Gabbianelli and Dr. Katie Rybakova of MAMLE, and from Maine Department of Education Commissioner, Pender Makin. Other speakers included Dr. Gert Nesin of MAMLE, Jeff Rodman of NELMS, and Adam Regan, a Senior at Old Town High School.

This event was reported on by Central Maine and the Bangor Daily News.