MEDIA RELEASE: Six Maine Seniors Named U.S. Presidential Scholar Semifinalists

Governor Janet Mills and Commissioner of Education Pender Makin today congratulated six Maine students who were recognized as being among our nation’s most distinguished graduating seniors. These students were named national semifinalists in the 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

The semifinalist scholars are chosen on the basis of their accomplishments in many areas including academic and artistic success, career and technical fields, leadership, and involvement in school and the community.  They represent excellence in education and are among the most accomplished youth in our country.

“These graduating seniors exemplify the Maine spirit of hard work, creativity and civic engagement, and I am honored to recognize their achievement,” said Governor Mills. “I know I speak for all of us when I say how proud I am of these young scholars, and I look forward to their future contributions to our great state.”

From nearly 3.6 million graduating high school seniors from across the country, over 5,600 students were identified as candidates in this program. 621 semifinalists were selected, 6 of whom are from Maine.

“I join the families, friends, and school communities of these outstanding Maine seniors in celebrating the determination, commitment and accomplishments that this recognition reflects,” said Commissioner Makin. “We are proud to have these students represent the State of Maine’s Class of 2020.”

Maine U.S. Presidential Scholar Semifinalists:

Abigail A. Aleshire
Waynflete School

Ethan Foster Eickmann
Kennebunk High School

Glynis O’Meara
Deering High School
Jay Raj Philbrick
North Yarmouth
Maine School of Science & Mathematics


Neily Kate Raymond
Hermon High School


John Bishop Wahlig III
Falmouth High School


The semifinalists form the pool from which the 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars will be chosen in May. Visit for the complete list of semifinalists across the country.