Changes to Maine DOE’s ESEA Program Office Effective July 1, 2021

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) Program Office within the Maine Department of Education (DOE) has recently undergone reorganization that will take effect on July 1, 2021.  The Department’s ESEA Team takes a collaborative approach to the oversight of the various educational programs under the ESEA.  As part of this collaborative approach, individuals within the ESEA Program Office serve as primary school administrative unit (SAU) contacts for different parts of the state.  Each ESEA Program Officer will continue to assist SAUs within each of the nine (9) superintendent regions with work related to ESEA programs.

Please review and note the updated regional ESEA contacts within the Maine DOE.  School administrative units located in each of the following superintendent regions can contact the following individuals for support with their ESEA program work as of July 1, 2021:

Superintendent Region ESEA Program Manager Phone Email
Region 1 – Aroostook Jessica Caron (207) 458-0334
Region 2 – Penquis Travis Doughty (207) 624-6709
Region 3 – Washington Ryan Reed (207) 530-2129
Region 4 – Hancock Daniel Weeks (207) 624-6749
Region 5 – Mid Coast Ryan Reed (207) 530-2129
Region 6 – Western Jackie Godbout (207) 557-3746
Region 7 – Cumberland Daniel Weeks (207) 624-6749
Region 8 – Kennebec Jessica Caron (207) 458-0334
Region 9 – York Travis Doughty (207) 624-6709

For SAUs that (1) may not know which superintendent region they belong to or (2) would simply like to confirm who to contact, please visit the ESEA Program Office’s regional contact map at:  Individuals can select a particular SAU from the drop-down menu on this page to determine who their ESEA Program Manager is and how to contact them.

For more information on the Department’s ESEA Federal Program Office, please contact ESEA Federal Programs Director, Cheryl Lang, at or (207) 441-8059.