Educators help develop formative assessment digital library

This summer, 71 Maine educators began helping to develop a formative assessment digital library to accompany Maine’s new assessments, which will be administered starting in the spring of 2015. The library is an online, interactive clearinghouse of resources, tools and professional learning opportunities for educators, students and families. It will include examples of instructional best practices at each grade level, strategies for cross-classroom collaboration and professional development resources related to the assessment system, such as scoring rubrics for performance tasks.

Aligned with comprehensive assessments that provide more information about student learning and achievement than previous tests, the library will give educators high-quality, vetted tools to tailor instruction to individual student and classroom needs. Educators will also be able to submit resources and engage in online discussions to share information and learn from colleagues in Maine and across the country.

Formative tools, which are the focus of the library, provide information needed to adjust teaching and learning while they are still happening and guide teachers in making decisions about future instruction. Examples of formative assessments and tools include teacher observations, questions and discussion, student practice presentations and self-evaluation, “think-pair-share” and other strategies.

The educators who make up the State Network of Educators are participating in trainings and will submit and review formative assessment resources for the library, putting them through a rigorous and evidence-based review before entering them into the library. Participants will also provide feedback on the usability of the digital library platform.

The library is scheduled to debut with some resources available in the spring of 2014 and interim assessments available in the fall of 2014. The first statewide administration of the summative assessment will be in spring 2015. The comprehensive assessment system, including the library and its resources, is projected to cost less than what the State currently spends on testing. Districts, many of which currently pay for interim assessments and formative tools, will have access to these grade K-12 resources at no cost.


October 2013 Last administration of the NECAP
May 2014 Last administration of the SAT for accountability purposes
Spring 2014 Field test for new assessment items. Approximately 20 percent of Maine students will take the ELA or the mathematics field test items.
Spring 2014 Educators can access some formative tools in the formative assessment digital library
Fall 2014 Interim assessments scheduled to be available in the library
Spring 2015 First administration of Maine’s new assessment system scheduled

See below for a full list of Maine educators participating in the development of the formative assessment library and the members of the State Leadership Team.

More information

State Network of Educators

The following educators from around Maine serve on the State Network: Mary Adley, Carrabec High School; Jennifer Allain-Winchester, Bucksport High School; Megan Allen, Vassalboro Community School; Christine Anderson-Morehouse, Midcoast Professional Development Center; Kara Beal, Valley Rivers Middle School; Julie Boucher, Oak Hill High School; Ben Braasch, Lake Region Middle School; Melanie Brown-Twitchell, Ellsworth Elementary Middle School; Nancy Burnette, Harriet Beecher Stowe Elementary School; David Caivano, Penquis Valley High School; Andrew Cavanaugh, MSAD4; Heidi Clark, RSU 39; Victoria Cohen, Mallett School; Leanne Condon, Mt. Blue RSD; Sandra Cookson, Carmel & Levant; Morgan Cuthbert, Yarmouth School District; Ruth Dater, Thornton Academy; Cynthia Dean, University of Maine at Augusta; Michelle DeBlois, Maranacook Community Middle School; AJ Dufort, Noble High School; Julie Dyer, Noble High School; Heidi Early-Hersey, MSAD 60/ RSU 35; Anita Findlen, MSAD#22; Rhonda Fortin, Westbrook School District; Jennifer Grodewald, Stillwater Academy; Kimberly Guptill, Stevens Brook Elementary School; Ann Haley, Holden Elementary School; Jilda Izzo, Falmouth Middle School; Karen Jagolinzer, Harrison Middle School; Judy Johnson, RSU 75; Marilyn Joyce, Brewer High School; Kathy Kauffman, Oak Hill Middle School; Kelly LaBonte, Paris Elementary School; Bethany Lambert, Sanford High School; Liza Lestage, Washburn Elementary School; Elva Lovejoy, Eric Knowlton/Vivien Hussey; Andrea Lumbra, RSU67; Kristina McBean, University of Maine; Kelly McCormick, University of Southern Maine; Andrew McDowell, RSU 18; Megan McOsker, Mount Desert Island High School; Melissa Mitchell, RSU 24; Shelly Moody, Williams Elementary School; Janet Murakami, Houlton Middle School; Daniel Murphy, Bonny Eagle High School; Kevin Napolillo, Brewer High School; Andrew Oliver, RSU 4; Nick Pascarella, Monmouth Academy; Amanda Pingree, Carrabec Community School; Pamela Rawson, Baxter Academy for Technology and Science; Brigitte Reid, Vivian E. Hussey; Matthew Rich, Lee Academy; Melissa Roberts, Portland Public Schools; Jeff Rosinski, Marshland High School; Lisa Savage, RSU 74; Christine Schmidt, Orono/Glenburn/Veazie Schools; Jane Seidenberg, Gorham Schools; Mary Lou Shuster, Buxton Center Elementary School; David Stearns, George Stevens Academy; Melanie Stevens, Noble Middle School; David Sturm, Beal College; Melissa Tenney, Narraguagus High School; Kelly Thornhill, MSAD 15; Mark Tinkham, Hall-Dale High School; Holly Trottier, Albert S. Hall School; Amy Tucker, Auburn Public Schools; Nola Urban; Georgia Vallee, Leavitt Area High School; Patrice Wiles, Nobel High School; Travis Wood, Maine Department of Education; Lynn Yuodsnukis, Harriet Beecher Stowe Elementary School.

State Leadership Team

The State Leadership Team includes: Deborah Howard, education consultant; Gayla LaBreck, Thomas College; Doug Lynch, University of New England; Ron Robert, North Berwick Elementary School; and from the Maine DOE: David Connerty-Marin, Sherry Dolloff, Morgan Dunton, Susan Fossett, Paula Hutton, Lee Anne Larsen and Michele Mailhot.

Leave a Reply