MEDIA RELEASE: School Psychologists Recognized for Outstanding Service in Maine

The Maine Association of School Psychologists (MASP) recently announced that Lisa Backman from Windham Raymond School District is the 2020 Maine School Psychologist of the Year. This award acknowledges a member of MASP who demonstrates excellence in school psychology practice, and leadership in the profession.

“Beyond the role of evaluators, school psychologists fill a crucial role in school communities providing consultation and collaboration in intervention systems and supporting school staff through professional development and technical assistance,” Erin Frazier, Maine Department of Education Director of Special Services. “These individuals are critical to SAUs efforts to provide a continuum of services to all children.”

Mrs. Backman has been providing psychological services to the Windham-Raymond School District, RSU #14 for the past 20 years, and as an adjunct professor at St. Joseph’s College. She is a trusted professional within her school community among students, staff, and families. Lisa’s building principal stated that he believes they are “fortunate to have her calm demeanor, as well as her extensive knowledge of research-based practices and Special Education law to help make the IEP process one that aligns with our mission.” In fact, he shared that he “often encourages teachers to talk with Lisa when struggling to meet the unique needs of learners. Teachers appreciate this support and report being able to implement effective practices from her feedback.”

Elizabeth (Lisa) Howe of Gorham Public Schools received the Lifetime Achievement Award for her devotion through years of service to her local school district as well as to the profession at the state level. On top of her superb work at the district level, Lisa has volunteered many hours of her time over the years in numerous positions with MASP. These have included participation at the committee level as well as serving as Secretary for MASP. Lisa has been a very diligent and collaborative contributor.

Jill Adams, Executive Director of the Maine Administrators of Services for Children with Disabilities (MADSEC) received an Outstanding Advocate for School Psychologists 2020 honor for her her tireless work for the students of Maine.

Erin Frazier, Maine DOE Director of Special Services also received an Outstanding Advocate for School Psychologists 2020 awarded for her ongoing championing for the field of School Psychology while navigating the challenges brought throughout the COVID-19 pandemic.

“Maine Department of Education recognizes there is a critical shortage of school psychologists in the state that is long standing,” noted Frazier. “These positions are critical to fulfill child find responsibilities and support effective programming for students.”

Lisa Backman
Windham/Raymond School District
2020 Maine School
Psychologist of the Year
Lisa Howe
Gorham Public Schools
Lifetime Achievement Award
Jill Adams
Executive Director
Maine Administrators of Services for Children with Disabilities (MADSEC)
2020 Outstanding Advocate
for School Psychologists
Erin Frazier
Director of Special Services
Maine Department of Education
2020 Outstanding Advocate
for School Psychologists